• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Tortoise enrichment

Wally&Eva

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Carol
Anybody have any items that their tortoise likes? I adopted a full grown Russian tortoise. She is pretty big and heavy, about 7” Anybody have any enrichment ideas? She is so curious and active.

This is her routine. She soaks outside once a week. Gets sun for about an hour, 2x a week. Goes for walks for a few minutes where she eats from our hands. She’s obsessed with food. I’m a chef so I’m lucky to have access to a variety of fresh whole foods. She has a really good diet, although it’s not the exact stuff they eat in nature, which would be the best. I don’t let her free roam my lawn because I don’t know if there is pesticides so she just walks on the sidewalk (coaxed with food of course.) I will give her more exercise. What can I give her in her tank to keep her preoccupied? Is that rolly ball thing worth it? It’s pricey for a toy. I’ve given her rocks and put things around the outside of her cage and move it around often as they suggest. This old gal notices everything!!! Any recs or advice? I haven’t had a tortoise in 20 years

MommyBird

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Debbie
My avian/exotics vet has a large tortise, Henry. He is so cool. He has a tall flag attached to his back so people not used to looking down will see him and not walk into him. He greets all the people and pushes the office chairs all over.
And the sculptor I bought my Raven bronzes/statues from had the most friendly tortise named Rabbit who loved to greet and follow new people. I loved it too.
Since yours (name?) is food motivated and a smart girl have you tried clicker training? I bet you could teach her to push a small, light ball (small beachball?) into a goal, for a food reward. Starting with a really short distance.