• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Tips for a first time owner of a young female lovebird

vrnkstxx

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Veronika St
Hey guys!
First time posting and first time being a lovebird owner (okay i will be getting her in 2 days but nonetheless). I have previously owned two budgies and a cockatiel so i do have some experience.
However, since this is my first time owning a lovebird i decided to ask you some questions if you could kindly help me.
1. First of all, i have attached a picture below and i would love if you could give me an exact age guess since the store i’m getting her from said she has around 4 months. The thing that is confusing me is that i read somewhere that their beaks are black until around 2-3 months and somewhere i have read that they are black until they turn a year. So help me please i am very confused :confused:
2. Next i would like some tips on how can i tame her, she (Luna is her name btw) isn’t hand raised and i know females are especially hard to tame so any help would be appreciated.
3. In terms of their diet what are some seeds, fruits and vegetables that you would recommend?
4. I know that they are very playful birds so how many toys would you recommend me to buy? Also how often should i change them?

Thank you for taking your time and reading this post,
Sincerely, a first time love bird owner :heart: 0E0D8FC0-8289-426B-9BBA-C716FE107BB9.jpeg
D91D4A87-E9F6-4A8A-8DDA-C839B5DF5FE5.jpeg

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
Welcome to the Avenue :hiya:

Hopefully some of the lovebird owners will be along soon to help you with some information :)

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award