• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

SUP!

Saffronic

Moving in
Real Name
Star
So hi! I'm new here, and I ran into this place by absolute accident because I was researching if a Tiel and a Lovebird could be friends or not since I am in the tentative market for a second birdie. And so I decided to join because why not, this seems like a very nice place with a lot of knowledge that I more than likely am lacking about birds-- Especially tiels since I adopted my boy last year and I'm still learning how to look after him.

But yes, name's Star. A lot of people call me Saff and I have always wanted a bird my whole life but just recently managed to get one. I made sure to do a lot of research before getting my first. I have a grey cockatiel named Teba (his nickname is Pato). He was adopted in September 6th, 2019 (I never got an official hatch day for him but he was an extremely baby baby when I got him, still made the raptor sounds when I was giving him millet the first few weeks. The breeder said he was about 3 months old so I guesstimated his hatchday to be 06/06/2019). Handfed, extremely sweet but he has a bit of a fussy mood. He loves spinach, arugula, pear, squash and good lord does he enjoy bread but I absolutely limit that for him. He has a spacious Preveu white cage that stays next to my bed. I usually just limit him to my bedroom since I share my home with my family and they have 2 dogs (German Shep named Candy and a Rat Terrier named Toby) and I have an old cat (her name is Kaida and she's about to be 16 years old). I trust Kaida and Candy, but not so much Toby. So for now, Teba just stays loose in my room.

We also raise yard chickens. All of them are extremely spoiled by my mom everyday with fresh veggies and cooked rice and fruits.