• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Sun conure egg/nesting advice?

mangodango

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Gabriella
Hi there! I was hoping if I could receive some advice regarding my sun! I hope these are not too many questions, this is my first time using the forums. She is due to go to the vet soon, but I'm hoping for some advice until then so I can do my best for her!

My gal Mango, who is my first bird, is about 5 years old and has recently begun egg-laying, and I'm afraid I might possibly have a chronic egg layer on my hands. She's laid about 2 clutches so far with one lone egg in between the two in a short amount of time, with the lone egg being due to having her stay at my sister's for a week. I have tried a few things already to get her to stop, such as rearranging her cage, adding new toys, removing her happy hut (for good!), setting her bed time to around 6:00PM (with the cage covered) and have already bought dummy eggs for future use. She's currently on Zupreem fruit-blend (she's a very picky eater, converted from seeds) and I've supplied her with a cuttlebone for extra calcium which she's thankfully started chewing. I do have some questions about her behavior lately and was wondering if anyone could offer me some insight or personal experience as all this new behavior does make me anxious and I tend to worry about her a lot!

1. Is it normal for her to be sitting on the eggs all day non-stop? She does get up to eat, and when she does, she eats a lot! I was actually fearing the worst when I saw her crop get so big, but thankfully it just seemed to have been her going to town in her food dish. Otherwise, she is obsessed with them and refuses to leave them for too long.