• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Suddenly swollen chest/crop??

Cheeko

Moving in
Real Name
Sara
Hello, today I noticed my budgie (Cheeko) crouching forward and looking intently suddenly, it looked weird to me because he was like that for several minutes. But I was leaving the housing so I couldn't keep watchin him.
image0 (3).jpg image1 (1).jpg

I left on some TV and went out, I came back 4 hours later and noticed that his chest looks weirdly puffed or swollen?? Im really worried, what does this mean. I've only had him for 6 days and its my first pet bird so I'm not very experienced.
Its already late here though so I put him to bed. Before bed he preened himself normally and then moved inside to his fav sleeping spot and then I covered him.
image0 (4).jpg

I would appreciate any advice I'm really worried.
some context: the only thing that happened differently today is that I had some issues with the tray of his cage so I had to struggle with it for several minutes (40 minutes) and it made lots of noise and shook his cage quite a bit and that freaked him out, and he was breathing heavily but he didnt fly or screech or anything, just watched me very intently and fully alert. idk if this is relevant, but here it is.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
Does he have a full crop? Maybe that is all you are seeing??

Cheeko

Moving in
Real Name
Sara
Oh what do you mean by a full crop? like he ate too much you mean?

Bookwyrm

Sprinting down the street
If it still looks like that in a while (a few hours, maybe a couple days?) I'd take him to the vet. Since he's new, that would probably be a good idea anyways.

Cheeko

Moving in
Real Name
Sara