• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Stolen birds (not mine)

Khizz

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
I doubt anyone here can help as it's located in Switzerland, but I just want to share something that has upset me today. 2 days ago a woman located not too far from me had all her aviary birds stolen. Everything. Conjures, cockatiels, rosellas, budgies...so many birds with a beautiful aviary. I'm guessing they haven't been simply set free because she hasn't mentioned seeing any, and she would have likely come across an open door or something. I really feel for this poor woman...people can be so cruel :(

Kassiani

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
That's awful!! I have no experience with this, but do people steal them to re-sell? That poor woman! It breaks my heart.

Khizz

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
That's awful!! I have no experience with this, but do people steal them to re-sell? That poor woman! It breaks my heart.
I'm not sure! I don't see that many conures for sale around here, so maybe they might make a profit?

Although the more I think about it, I'm wondering whether somebody did set them free. Surely stealing all these birds in the night would be difficult?

What makes it worse is that there are a few ignorant people commenting below "I hope somebody set them free, birds don't belong in cages!". Then there's other people saying useless things like "why didn't you have a lock/security cameras" etc. Etc.

Kassiani

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award