• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Severe or Hans Macaw

Kristen888

Meeting neighbors
Hi all! I am trying to decide between a Severe or a Hans Macaw. I have some bird experience but am doing lots of research...hence the question...Severe versus Hans macaw. I have heard many people state that a severe may not make as good of a companion as a Hans. I was wanting a bigger bird (not a large Mac) so the severe appealed to me. Also their colors are gorgeous!!! However the little Hans is sooo cute with their voice. I'm looking for a bird that can go in the car, chill with me on the couch and maybe free flight in the future. Of course snuggles are a plus, but I'm not counting on it as it depends on the bird personality (by snuggles I mean head and neck scratches). I am open to baby or adoption, but leaning towards adoption because of my age...48. I really want your opinion about the species. Maybe they are so close in species that it doesn't matter? Please advise......

Kassiani

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
While I can’t help you make this decision, I love macaws! And, I’ve been interested in a Hans for a while.

All that to say—following! Lol!

Last edited:

MommyBird

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Debbie
I have a Hahns. I think you may not be picturing their size correctly. They are about 165g, very slightly larger than a Sun Conure. A Severe is much larger, twice the size at 300-410g. I would never ever think to free fly a Hahns outside.

MR. Mango

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Hahn’s gets my vote they’re generally less temperamental and they’re so dashing!!! Keep us updated on what you decide

tka

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award