• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Seems I SCARED my male lovebird away of his nest!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nour826

Checking out the neighborhood
First I am totally new to birds, have a pair of yellow / orange headed lovebirds which recently laid about 3 eggs or this was the count I saw last time.
My birds are not tamed - bought them already old enough to breed.
I used every other day to open the top of the nest & capture one picture with my mobile to check the eggs.
Now considering my birds used to get scared when anyone is approaching their cage & run quickly to the best box, they are always in & not allowing me any chance to check the nest while they are out!
Ok one day I saw 3 eggs. Few days after I noticed there is only one egg so I decided to push the birds out just to check whether they are hiding any. The hen refused to move so I didn't push her but the male got scared out of the nest box & stayed out for the whole night! By the morning I noticed he is so nervous & aggressively biting the cages bard as if he is trying to escape the cage. Finally he managed to push himself between relatively wide two bars of the cage & flied to the room.

I can of course get him back to the cage but I do feel guilty because I scared them that much! & I will appreciate any advice to help him feel quite back.

Thank you all!

Marc

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Marco
I would be worried only for the fact he was able to escape through two bars!!
The risk is that, in future, they can remain beheaded or trapped.
What is the distance between the bars?
As for the fear (of your male) is not important; the lovebirds are prey animals in the wild; so into their DNA is foreseen that there is the possibility to be scared;