• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Safe Toys for Lorikeets:

RavenClaw

Moving in
Real Name
Sam Merlotte
Hello,

I'm a new Parront to a Rainbow Lorikeet (Trichoglossus moluccanus).

Because this is my first time caring for a nectarivore I would appreciate guidance from others on being the best Parront.

That in mind I would like to ask if this toy is suitable for Rainbow Lorikeet:

If purchased the toy would have mango as the enrichment reward and would only be allowed if supervised.

However, I am just unsure if the toy is safe for a lorikeet.

So please let me know your thoughts on the toy and if you have any other toys you would recommend.

Last edited:

Aves

Rollerblading along the road

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
What country are you in? Probably best to get store/toy recommendations for the country you’re in to save you paying more than you have to for bird goodies.
Lots of people I’ve seen with rainbow lorikeets also give them bird safe/native flowers- from my understanding they love them as much as fruits.
Is it only foraging toys you’re after or all kinds of suitable toys?

RavenClaw

Moving in
Real Name
Sam Merlotte
What country are you in? Probably best to get store/toy recommendations for the country you’re in to save you paying more than you have to for bird goodies.
Lots of people I’ve seen with rainbow lorikeets also give them bird safe/native flowers- from my understanding they love them as much as fruits.
Is it only foraging toys you’re after or all kinds of suitable toys?
I live in Australia.

Because of this I have access to number of native plants and have fed her flowers from Deua Grevillea (Grevillea rhyolitica).