• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Rescued lovebird plucking wing

ValkyrieBH

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Nicola
Sorry, I’m new to this...
I rescued this bird from an awful shop, tiny cages, masses of shrieking birds and fluorescent lights (we are in the Middle East) . I could see wing was ‘damaged’ and bird stressed so I bargained and brought her/him home. After settling bird in calm environment Bird has seen vet and had antibiotics and painkillers plus cone collar. It was incredibly stressful for Pippin. I could only catch her in a cloth, she is not at all tame and the collar make her so stressed, it was really awful and upsetting to see her. Eventually we took the collar off as decided better a happy life and bald wing. Pippin can fly around house during day, has baths and a nice cage to sleep in where she goes at nightfall . Only really eats seeds, will eat apple and peck some herbs. Have been trying very dilute aloe Vera misting over feathers which she likes mostly. We have another lovebird but they aren’t interested in each other just tolerate each others presence.

Issue; this wing was totally bald when I got her and looked tatty. Vet took out one damaged feather. Feathers were nicely growing back as per photo but then in one morning Pippin plucked them out again. I was so sorry. Again now they are growing back but I’m afraid the cycle will continue. Meanwhile we try to give as least stress as possible, very calm, lots of natural light, water available, she flies around a lot. Has 12 hours sleep every night in covered cage. Favourite toy is a shoelace, she picks at it a lot. Any suggestions - perhaps for a lightweight collar that won’t stress. I wish I could help Pippin.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle