• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Quick genetics question

sachman

Sitting on the front steps
Hi all. I am not a genetics expert in birds but do work in the field of biology. Just wanted to confirm something a breeder told me regarding a pied cockatiel. He mated a Lutino male with a pied female. He said that all pied babies would be male. But I am not following that. Couldn't a pied female be produced? My thinking:
1. Pied is recessive and the Y chromosome does not carry color info. So the female is pied/-
2. Lutino is dominant (I think). FOr a pied chick to be hatched doesn't that mean the male is Lutino/pied? In which case he could contribute a pied to the females Y and produce a pied female.

I know I am missing something so any lesson or thorough web site on this would be great. Thanks!

Mike

tka

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Birds don't have X and Y chromosomes like humans do.

Female birds are ZW chromosomes
Male birds have ZZ chromosomes

sachman

OK. But the question still holds though my nomenclature might be off. I think part of my mistake is that pied is not on the sex chromosome but rather is autosomal. Yet both lutino and pied are recessive. So I guess the question is what happens when a recessive sex-linked gene and an autosomal recessive gene are together in the same bird? Which one predominates? Just trying to figure how the breeder says all pied chicks must be male.

Destiny

Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Destiny
Lutino is sex-linked recessive. Pied is autosomal recessive.

I think the breeder mis-spoke. There is no reason to believe all males would be pied. In fact, you are unlikely to get ANY pied offspring from that pairing.