• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Questions (14 Week Old Amazon)

SkyDancer

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Lauren Elizabeth
Hi everyone,

We decided to welcome home a little YNA. He was born April 2nd, making him around 14 weeks.

Breeder said he was starting to eat solids but he was still giving him formula 2x a day in a syringe.

I used to be a Vet Tech for an avian vet and handfed a lot of parrots (she was also a breeder).

We picked him up last night and I mixed up his formula but he showed no interest. I am used to them bobbing their heads and taking it pretty quickly. He kind of nibbled on the syringe and lapped at it with his tongue for a minute. He maybe ate 2.5ccs? Then shook his head and had a couple tiny bubbles it seemed by his nostrils/nares. I have a hard time believing he inhaled any when it was such a small amount and he swallowed it - but he just generally doesn’t seem interested.

Can I put it on a spoon or in a bowl instead? I made some scrambled eggs which he was excited about and nibbled at!

I do have a scale and will be weighing him. Also, suggestions on housing?

They can’t go in a regular cage at this point as they could fall, right? We have a huge corner cage that will eventually be his.

I have him set up in a small wire kennel with low perches, bowls, and a rope toy now! Should I leave water and food in the cage with him? I am worried about him dipping his whole beak in and getting it in his nares.

Attachments

April

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Aww what a little cutie pie! Let me tag a few breeders @melissasparrots @Mockinbirdiva @BrianB .
I'd be careful with that rope toy as it would be easy for him to pull off and ingest the strands or possibly get caught in it and hurt.