• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pumpkin is now afraid of me! HELP!!

sweets66

Moving in
Hi all, I am in serious need of help!!

This morning I was sweeping our lounge (our broom is blue) and Pumpkin (my Cape Green) flew off his cage in terror! I tried picking him up, but he bit the hell out of me. I managed to get him back onto his cage beside his bud Georgie (Timneh Grey) and tried speaking to him softly and left him to calm down a bit. I removed the offending broom from the room. But now, Pumpkin won't come near me!! He won't let me touch him, tries to bite me and shakes in terror when I try to get near him! I am so upset, I can't stop crying!! PLEASE HELP!!

Tom B

Walking the driveway
Oh no, so sorry for you. Im not really an expert but i would just start again (just sit by the cage talking to him) and try and think of ANYTHING that could have been different about the room, what you were wearing etc and put that back to normal.
Hopefully someone else will be able to help soon.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

roxynoodle

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
I Can't Stop Posting!
Real Name
Audrey
He may be over it by the next day if you already had a strong bond :)

If not, go back to more passive interactions like talking to him, singing/dancing, giving him treats from your hand, etc, until he's ready to be handled again.

My conure still hates the broom, vacuum and all cleaning supplies after 13 years. It's best for me to do the cleaning after she's back in her cage.

Cyreen

Rollerblading along the road
It's important not to get upset, because that will contribute to Pumpkin's reaction. The less of a big deal you make of it, the easier it will be to calm him when he's spooked.

yvette

Real Name
Yvette