• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pionus Chirping

PionusAva

Moving in
Hello all!

I have recently adopted a Pionus Maximillian girl, about 2 years old we think, from a home where she could no longer stay. She wasnt treated poorly, but the person had too many animals and wanted to get rid of some. This is my first bird, and I tried to prepare and study as much as possible before she was re-located here. She was very scared when she arrived, but she is making progress everyday and I'm so proud of her!

However, at the moment she is chirping very much. I don't mind this at all, I think it's cute. But reading up on the species, everyone says that the Pionus is so, so quiet. I'm still new to her language, so I dont know what this chirping means. Is this normal? Is she unhappy?

She doesnt seem to be in any distress otherwise. She doesnt play with her toys, as she is still pretty scared. So maybe she is bored and is trying to entertain herself?

So, my question is: is chirping normal behaviour for a Pionus bird?

Thank you!

(Sorry for grammar, english is not my first language)

Best regards/ Isabelle

Dartman

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Terry