• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures Parrotlet Mutation Identification?

finchly

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Finchly
I don’t think she’s a fallow either, but I’m no expert. I’ll see if I can find a good pic of my dilute turquoise girl.
As far as red eyes, some birds will have them as babies and then they turn dark (again, I’m no parrotlet expert - this is other species). To have true red eyes, both parents would need to have red eyes.

NO MATTER WHAT-- ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!!
Agree!

finchly

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Finchly
I'm not sure how reputable this breeder is (I am not versed in known p'let breeders) but they have what they say is a "Dilute Turquoise Fallow" on this page that looks similar https://www.xtreemparrotlets.com/dilute-turquoise-parrotlets/
I just read in a forum this week that this breeder is known to invent their own color names and then call them “rare.”
I need to learn all this! Silly to have 6 p’lets and not know genetics.
D4E898F8-77C1-4BC8-AB08-E3BCC9C00779.jpeg 8503EB06-CA14-4869-8DE0-725F86F0F359.jpeg

Last edited:

Hermesbird

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Cat
I just read in a forum this week that this breeder is known to invent their own color names and then call them “rare.”
That’s quite horrible to be inventing names for the sake of “rare”. I do agree on learning as well, I spent most of my time googling trying to find out myself lol.
Maybe we can create a thread for different parrotlet type and correct names!

fashionfobie

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Natalie
What a cutie!

Yeah the photos didn't show the fallow! No worries :) She still looks lovely :)

wavywavy

Meeting neighbors