• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Paco is plucking :(

Snowghost

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Terri
Life has been a turmoil. First the retail job with flexible schedule. Now I have started a new one, up at 4:30 am and at least home before dark. After a year and a half, his feathers are coming in. He did lose his left wing feathers a few months ago. Took forever for them to come back in. His shoulder? Top of the wind is still bald. I confirmed it this weekend, he is using his beak as a pair of tweezers, pulling them out.

So many changes for my big boy and he has been such a trooper.

I have NO experience with a plucker. Guys and gals I need your advice.

scott199

Walking the driveway
oh so sorry, things were really looking up for you two.

im the same i have no first hadn't experience just research, im sure others will be able to advise better but from what ive read pure 100% aloe vera helps with plucking and good old sunlight.

But really the need to confirm with a vet that its nothing medical should really be done (unless you have? ) once you ruled that out you can start the process of solving the metal problem.

but i know our rescue manager has a plucked grey and hes been trying everything for years, its just a habit he does like biting our nails, no medical reason, plenty of time out, toys and attention (they both work from home) but he still does it, i've seen him a few times and he seems the happiest little chap ever, friendly to everyone.

Monaco

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Kelly Hill