• ALL Threads/Post in Rehome Highway will be reviewed for compliance to forum guidelines before being approved.
  • Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Owning ravens?

Myncss

Checking out the neighborhood
I'm new to this site and I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask but I'm wondering how I would go about owning a raven or crow? I've been owning parrots and birds for about 8 years now and I've always had the idea in the back of my head. I was out fishing yesterday and found a raven nest, I was very careful to not disturb them. They were fledglings and were massive! I knew I couldn't take one now I was not prepared at all. I'm thinking about going back next year earlier in the season to maybe get a chick? Anyone have any experience with corvids? I don't know where to start getting information from.

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
I'm thinking about going back next year earlier in the season to maybe get a chick?
Please don´t ever take chicks (of any bird) from the wild.

As for owning corvids, I believe there are some restrictions in certain parts of the world so you have to look into local laws.

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
It is illegal in the United State to posses a Raven/Crow. You cannot even pick up a raven feather from the ground without risking legal ramifications.