• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Odd comfort noise?

RaisingMan

Moving in
Real Name
Susan
A little background: I used to foster for a parrot rescue about ten years ago. It was a trial by fire; I was young, thought book learning was enough, and learned I was an idiot but also that I loved parrots and learned quickly.

I also owned a green cheek that I fell in love with from the rescue and adopted, but had a terrible husband at the time that sold her while I was on deployment. All so he could buy weed. But that's an entirely different, heartbreaking story. My point being, I'm no expert, but I'm not entirely a newbie.

So, my (probably dumb) question is...is a "haaaa" sound from a happy conure normal or should I already be making a vet appointment for possible respiratory issues probably brought on from the stress of being rehomed? He will hop to my shoulder, fluff up his head, give me the "love you" eyes, then open his beak like a yawn and make a "haaaaaaa" noise. I would say it sounds almost like a hiss or a wordless whisper, but he's definitely not angry lol.

There are no other signs of illness: no tail bobbing, no fast breathing, poops look as they should, he's active (though I'll admit I haven't had him long enough to know what his normal activity level is), no shivering, really nothing I can tell, but that doesn't mean much with a bird hiding his issues.

I'm a nervous nelly when it comes to bird illness because I've seen first hand how quickly a sick bird deteriorates. Most of the fosters I took in were already sick and in treatment; many passed or were rushed back to the vet for lengthy stays. It was never pretty and always a heartbreak. So, if it seems like I'm being too careful or a hypochondriac, that's the reason.

20191207_132336.jpg Picture of Mango looking handsome perching on my daughter's knee as an advanced thank you!