• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New to Birds! What should I get?

EgoLobster

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Kenzie
Hey! I’m kinda new around here and my last thread was discussing my sister’s neglected Conure.

Ive started to like birds a lot more, and I want one of my own! Of course Im new to the whole thing so Im not gonna hop in with any bird like a Conure or Parrot.

I was actually most heavily thinking about a Zebra Finch. I think they’re really pretty and funny little birds, but I’ve heard they’re not the easiest to befriend. Is this true? If so, maybe a Canary would be better?

Ive owned a budgie in the past when I was younger, but I’m thinking about getting something different this time. Any ideas or suggestions? Preferably not something super high maintenance due to me working both school and art commissions, I wouldn’t want a bird to live without the proper care it needs. I could take the bird out maybe 20-30m a day!

Very excited to see what y’all think!

Sparkles99

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Canaries sound lovely; I will own one one day. I think zebra finches look cute too & wouldn't be too high maintenance.

Any chance your sister would give you her conure if she's neglecting it?

MR. Mango

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Zebra finches typically are very skittish and can be a nice bird if u want something more hands off but u would need to get a small click of them 2-6 to keep them happy, canaries can also be nice but once again more hands off but they do seem to enjoy human interaction more than finches @jh81 @Destiny

Sunni Tiel

Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Rachel