• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New post: Caique plucking pin feathers and eating them

CrazyKozmo

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Rebecca
This is my first time posting on Pluckers Parlor. Looking to see if anyone has some insight on this situation. Kozmo (white bellied caique) is my 8 year old female, she is bonded with her female buddy Mickey, also 8 years old. Got them at 6 months old...have been (and will be) their only owner. Around 2 years of age, I was able to get them off of their seed mix and onto Harrison's pellets. I noticed that Kozmo started plucking her legs (those beautiful yellow pantaloons!!:sour:). I thought that it might be the corn and soy that is in Harrison's, so I changed them to Hari's/Tropican Alternative pellet (no soy, no corn). No improvement...plucking is continuing on her belly and chest. So, I got thinking about what @Mizzely always says about pellets (the best pellet is what they will eat and what they do well on). Well, they did best on seeds...so now I'm offering seeds, pellets [Alternative] (Mickey will still eat these, Kozmo just likes to throw them), sprouted seeds for breakfast, carrots and sweet peppers daily (they love these), kale weekly, berries and walnut and almond daily. Their feather colors are gorgeous!!

A bit more information: 1) Kozmo has always been the more high strung/excitable of the two (caique owners will understand); she is the one who's body language I need to pay close attention to.
2) When all of this started, it seemed to increase after a bath. She would just start preening/plucking. This continues to this day. They bathe in their water dish 1/2 per week.
3) She will pluck a pin feather, make a big "ouch" sound, and eat the feather. Usually 4-5 feathers in succession.