• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

NEW MEMBER WITH A LOVE BIRD

Habiba

Sitting on the front steps
Real Name
Habiba
F6D93361-043B-43BA-BF29-403ABC8B424A.jpeg Hi all, I’m Habiba and I’ve just signed up an account now because I’ve never owned a bird before.
So I just rescued a lovebird a that seems to have flown from one of the neighbours a few days ago and I decided to keep it and named it tweety lol.
As apparent, I have zero experience in birds and that’s the first bird so I need your help with some questions.
1)I bought it a cage and two types of seeds and water ofc but I was wondering what other seeds or fruits and veggies do they love?
2)Do they feel lonely or need to be in pairs or can I just have a single one?
3) I noticed that when it rests it moves its tail up and down and makes weird noises just like the sound the door makes when you open it slowly creeking? (Lol I’m so bad at describing) so I searched this behaviour and all the results agreed that this is a respiratory problem so do you think I need a vet?
4) Is it a must to get tweety out of the cage? It was so difficult to put it in the cage at first place because tweety is so damn hyper and isn’t hand tamed so whenever i approach him he flies to the highest place he can reach

Thank you loads in advance and sorry for wasting your time

cassiesdad

Ripping up the road
Weather Authority
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Bob Weisman
Welcome to you and Tweety! :)

I have no experience with Lovies...but I'm assuming other Roadies that are owned by them will be along shortly to advise you.

And you are never wasting our time when you're asking questions about your bird...;) :)

cassiesdad

Ripping up the road
Weather Authority
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award