• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New M2

Wthensler

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
William hensler
Thank you all again. He’s been in his cage all day and I hAve been going up to him and talking to him and cleaned out cage etc. he goes between hissing to asking for pets. I did open the cage and scratched his head a few times. He’s not much into treats so that won’t work in the way of bribery. I have an indoor trainer and was cycling in the living room and watching a show and he was swaying side to side. He looked relaxed like he was copying me. Kinda cute. I could feel my attitude toward him softening a bit, so I guess this watching eachother thing has been good so far. I also bought pvc to make the t-perch and placed it near the cage for him to get used it. So ill be honest...I work in the healthcare field and I honestly dont mind the pain of a bite or blood etc. what really scares me are horror stories of people getting maimed, facials bites, eyes or cockatoos going for jugulars (yea this was an article I read). I know how powerful that beak can be but how many of you have suffered severe injuries ? My anxious brain needs some calming. Google sometimes can be a very scary thing.
As the owner of an Amazon and a Too, the ‘zon wins hands down as the more aggressive attacker. Bo brutally attacks my wife on occasion; we believe he thinks it’s a game.
The difficulty with him is there’s very little warning. Coco is a bit easier to predict. Right now she’s on me sharing breakfast. Scarfing down a banana. Calm as a kitten.

Again, don’t fear but be cautious and don’t let your guard down. Sounds like things are progressing well.

Endlesaley

Meeting neighbors
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Aley