• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New here

ladydi

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Diane Colette
Greetings,

I am new to being bird owned as well as forum...
I have a cute Lil fiesty male IRN Gilmour.
I have never had a bird and needless to say it's been interesting these past months since Oct 2013, and guessing he is roughly now past 1yr or so.
Not having any experience with birds nor these rambunctious IRNS, I am sure I have done more than a few things wrong, but we've come a long way in that safely now he doesn't bite or lash out, he has in fact taken a more agreeable demeanor and has utterly stolen my ♥. He is so smart and each day seems to pick up new things.
Just 1 major issue, he overpreens & plucked his beautiful tail feathers and some other flight feathers which still I haven't figured even with Vet visits, $$ lab test for beak&feather disease neg and he is wearing a collar but doesn't seem to be working. He has toys, perches, activity & my dotting attention.I speak to him, rub his head play give treats etc...
It's breaking my ♥ to see him not growing into the beautiful IRN plumage & wish to help by any means to fix or alter to shift this behavior.
I'll look through forum for thread maybe others started on this topic, or start my own....
This is a great resource for me and others with so much knowledge.
I never thought myself a bird person but since Gilmour I wish I can have vast aviary...one day
Any helpful tips much appreciated....and I need to figure out how to flip uploaded images :) DSC_0182.JPG

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew