• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New Cockatiel

joshuacott

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Joshua Cott
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the world of birds so still learning.
I got my first Budgie last December and he's settled in great, his name is Blu.
During the week I had got a Cockatiel and I called her Angel unfortunately she must have been sick or too stressed and she passed away during the first night of having her.
When I told the place I got Angel they gave me another one, who I've called Pearl.
Pearl seems much healthier and happier than Angel had been.
Due to Pearl having been kept with Angel where I got them I have Pearl booked in with my local vet on Tuesday just to be safe.
Pearl is pretty quiet so far, and shakes her head most of the time if I talk to her, she seems to eat a lot but I'm assuming this is normal as she's a bigger bird than my budgie.
Her poop seems normal and apart from being quiet and eating a fair bit she seems pretty happy.
I'm just a bit paranoid after what happened with Angel.
I just wanted to get some opinions as to if it is probably normal she is so quiet as I know female cockatiels tend to be quiter than males. I'm assuming it's because she's adjusting to her new home.
I would really appreciate any advice/opinions and if anyone has any informative resources they wouldnt mind sharing with me so I can learn more about Cockatiels and Budgies.

Thank you

Sunni Tiel

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Rachel
Congrats on your baby!