• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New budgie question

july

Moving in
I have a male budgie and want to get a female for mating purposes. However my male budgie is 3,5 years old and I am wondering whether it is too late for him to get used to another bird at this point. Question to budgie owners, thanks

Sparkles99

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Welcome!

@Zara has a list of resources (stuff, money, people) needed to breed responsibly & without heartache.

What mutations does your male have?

july

Moving in
I think it is a green, yellow based, clearwing buddy it is hard to tell. I'm not an expert

Sparkles99

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
It'd be good to know his genetics before contemplating breeding. One of my budgies, Winston, is a retired breeder bird (I'm not a breeder; I bought him when the aviary closed). Visually, he looks clear winged. He's actually a single factor dominant pied (with 1 dark factor + 1 grey factor). So while he * looks * clear winged, he didn't pass this down to his offspring when he was at the aviary. Maybe there's a budgie/ bird club that could help you with getting started.

july

Moving in
What do you think about my buddy being a loner for 3,5 years? Do you think another bird would cause him stress? Or make him happier

Sparkles99

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award