• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New born Love Bird looks bloated?

iamakel

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Alexandru Stoica
Hi guys,

This is my first time here because I’m worried about my new born love birds.
The parents, who are about 5 years old (first time parents) are taking good care of the babies, but two of them look bloated (and swollen?) when I tried to clean their house. Also there’s poop on them that looks caked and I’ve never seen this in 1,5 weeks since their birth. I see that Emma cleans them when she’s hiding them under her, but now they’re not clean.

I wonder if there’s anything I can do or this is the normal look of the babies.

I clean their house once in 2 days, I clean the poop around the nest and put new straw substrate around the nest.

Attachments

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
@Zara

Can you possibly (without stressing out your birds) post pics of your nest set up, all the chicks that hatched, give more details about what food you’re feeding the parents and how many chicks hatched?

Been a big long day for me and my brain is not functioning as well as it should do I’m sorry, I can’t think just now who else to tag for you.
I’ll be back as soon as I can yo tag some other members who should be able to offer some advice incase Zara isn’t around- it could be a little early for her.

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Hello Alexandru,