• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

nesting

irishpara

Moving in
Real Name
carl rafter
Hi all,
Looking for some advice on my nesting Parakeets.
my Parakeets are sitting on eggs but the problem is that they didn't use a nesting box, instead they have nested on the floor of the avary. Its a shared avary and im worried about them rejecting the eggs because they are in the open. they continue to build around the nest to help keep the eggs warm and safe. should i risk moving the eggs to a nesting box or leave weel enough alone and just let them nest and see what hapens/
its my first year keeping birds so this is my first nesting season. any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.
regards
Carl

Gigibirds

Rollerblading along the road
Is it more parakeets in the aviary? Is it a male/female pair, and do you know if the eggs are fertilized? I would suggest moving them to a nesting box, but it really depends on your birds. I have one bird and I could put her eggs/babies anywhere and she would follow them, but I have another who just doesn't care enough to do that. They probably won't survive on the floor, however. Could you incubate the eggs yourself? That's probably too much work though.....But look at your birds and think about if they would accept the eggs and follow them into a nesting box. Personally, that's what I would do, but I'm sure there are people here with far better advice! Good luck and congrats on the eggs!!

irishpara

Moving in
Real Name
carl rafter