• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

My conure has me in tears

Francis1

Moving in
Hi all,
I'm new to this, but I'm so desperate for help I thought I'd reach out here. My sweet little conure turns all of a sudden into a demon for no reason. I don't know what to do.

I have read all the forums and professional help but nothing has worked. She (I think it's a girl we haven't had her tested) is about 6 months old, so to young I think for hormonal behavioural problems?

She has started attacking at random times so I'm not sure if it's something that causes it. It could be when we wake her up, or she could happily sit on my shoulder then attack my face. Or when we go close to her on her gym. She seems to be very moody and was never like this before. It changes all of a sudden.

The only thing I can think of that has changed in her routine is that we have been home constantly because of the restrictions of Corona virus.

Another reason that I think she may be biting from my research is that she is molting. But I don't know how to handle her behavior. I have tried saying no and ignoring her and all other sorts of methods mentioned in these forums and elsewhere. Nothing works. I try to discipline her and then go back about 10 min later to see if she's ok. But nothing works. Then I'm in tears, she must feel my sadness, because then she becomes sweet again and kisses me and is the bird I once knew. I love her so much, if this continues...even the thought of having to give her away has me in tears.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
@Monica will be able to give you great training tips.