• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

My cockatiel just laid an egg

cucu

Sitting on the front steps
Hey everyone!

A few weeks back I got my cockatiel a partner and they have been mating on a regular basis and they have mated today morning as well. Today evening, the hen started acting differently. She was being aggressive and seemed a little disturbed. We have this small area that is covered on 3 sides and my cockatiels usually use that place as their hiding spot or when they play peekaboo. Today evening my hen stayed in that area for an unusual time so i took a look at her and she was hissing at me so i stepped back, a few minutes back my hen walked out of the area really tired and trying her best to walk properly. So i peeped into the area and found an egg :laughing2: it's so cute!

But now, the thing is that this is my first time experiencing such a case so I do not know what to do. However, i do know that the birds sit on their eggs but none of my cockatiels were interested in being around the egg although they would look at it, they would go close to it or sit on it.

I called a bird pharmacy to enquire about it and I was told that the birds might not accept the egg since it wasnt laid in a nesting box.

Could you guys please help me out. What do i do with the egg if they dont accept it? If they accept it where do i keep it? do i get them a nesting box?

Thanks in advance

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
That is great she laid with no issues :)

I was told that the birds might not accept the egg since it wasnt laid in a nesting box.
No, this makes no difference. Some birds will lay and raise chicks right on the cage floor if they have enough will and the humans let them (not recommended).