• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

My birds beak is getting darker

Birdsrcute13

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Sofia
This is my IRN who is about five months old now. Its very picky with food and almost completely rejects all deeds and formulas fed to her since she was 8 weeks old.

As of such, her diet now mainly consists of sweet corn and sunflower seeds because she refuses to eat anything and she went up from 95g to 110g.

However, over time I've started to realize her beak has gotten darker. Is this a cause for concern?

Should I bring her to the vet? It's my very first pet bird and I'm not quite sure what it means as I have no experience and I hope people can shed some light.

I've attached two photos for reference. The first is the current state and the second is from 3. 5 weeks ago.

Attachments

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!

cassiesdad

Ripping up the road
Weather Authority
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Bob Weisman
Welcome to you and your bird. :)

Titan's beak did the same thing when he was not much older than your little one is now...our AV never said anything about it.

Her diet is an obvious concern, though...IRNs seem to be a bit picky at times about eating...corn is starchy...and sunflower seeds are fatty.

I'd advise to keep trying different fresh veggies...fine chopped. "Model" eating them in front of your bird...and make sure you let her see you enjoying them!

IRNs are intelligent...and independent...a combination that can bring out stubborn in them in a big way. ;)