• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

mini weight

Hahns0hmy

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Adam
I’ve been weighing my mini jefferson since I got him 5 years back. he was 149grams day 1. when You research the weight of an adult hahns macaw it says 120 to 170 some say 140 or near. i dont know if these charts are crazy or my little boy is fat as hell. i weighed him yesterday for this month hes currently 166grams. can anyone else share the weight of their mini ? or shed some light as to what it should be? I looked at some very old posts from this forum and many said 140s 150s but age wasnt clear.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
Go by body condition using the keel bone. If the breast tissue is flush with the keel, then he's a good weight. If he has "boobs", he's fat. If you can't figure it out, your vet can help. :)

Averages are just that. They do not encompass all individuals at either end of the spectrum. And weight can fluctuate with hormones, or when they last ate/pooped. Try to ensure you are weighing first thing in the morning on an empty crop.

keelbone-illus-2_orig.jpg

Hahns0hmy

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Adam
Go by body condition using the keel bone. If the breast tissue is flush with the keel, then he's a good weight. If he has "boobs", he's fat. If you can't figure it out, your vet can help. :)

Averages are just that. They do not encompass all individuals at either end of the spectrum. And weight can fluctuate with hormones, or when they last ate/pooped. Try to ensure you are weighing first thing in the morning on an empty crop.

View attachment 429123