• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Military Macaw Scabbing/Missing Feathers

gsechler

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello all,

This is my first time posting here and I'm hoping some of you can give me your opinion or tell me if you've seen anything like this before. My military macaw Simon has been having some skin and feather issues since about the middle of December. We've been to our avian vet numerous times in an attempt to find out what the issue is. Simon's been prescribed three separate instances of antibiotics (Baytril) and upon his last visit to the vet, last week, it was decided that our best bet was to put a collar on him to stop him from being able to cause himself more damage.

We did blood work back in December and again last week, along with a gram stain. Our vet's office says that all the blood work results and stain look normal and they see nothing of concern from the tests. Simon's weight has not fluctuated excessively and is around the range it has always been since he's been with us. At this point in time, the doctor's thought is that Simon probably had some sort of infection that was causing him discomfort and Simon's solution was to pick his feathers and scratch himself with his beak in an attempt to get some relief. After digging and drawing some blood, his skin started to scab at which point in time our vet thinks Simon was interested in opening the scabs as they were "foreign" to him and not something he's used to having on his body. While I trust our vet, this is also our first major medical issue in the 8 years we've had the birds and it really has me concerned.