• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Male or Female?

Shelby545

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Shelby
Hi I recently purchased a new cockatiel. It's a cinnamon pearly pied, or what the breeder told me it was. It's wing were trimmed unevenly. I have no idea what sex it is and 14751084527302059065266.jpg 14751085464111326654378.jpg 14751084527302059065266.jpg 14751085464111326654378.jpg I am also unsure of my other cockatiel which is a lutino, I believe.

Attachments

Marloz

Walking the driveway
Avenue Veteran
I'm no expert on sexing cockatiels so I'm guessing both cockatiels are male, but don't trust my opinion

Shelby545

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Shelby
I'm no expert on sexing cockatiels so I'm guessing both cockatiels are male, but don't trust my opinion
I am not sure if you can see on the lutinos wings, but they havexchange spots but the lightingredients wasn't helping

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
They very cute! How old are they? Male pearls lose their pearls after the first molt. However since he/she is also pied, he/she may retain them longer. This is a good resource: Sexing Cockatiels - Just Cockatiels!

Shelby545

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Shelby
They very cute! How old are they? Male pearls lose their pearls after the first molt. However since he/she is also pied, he/she may retain them longer. This is a good resource: Sexing Cockatiels - Just Cockatiels!
Thank you! He/she is about 8 month or so. And I was told the mother was a cinnamon pearl I believe and the father was a cinnamon peid. I wondered if both parents have the pearl gene they would only have regular pearls. But I have no idea how we cockatiel genetics work, so.

Monica

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue