• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Making toys

Solvurr

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Solveig Eide
Hso I've had some wicker balls for my conure and he loves to destroy them. But that means I have to replace them quite often, and it can get kind of expensive. So I've been thinking about trying to make some myself, and I have some willow I'm gonna use, but I have some experience making things (like wreaths and stuff) with birch twigs, and they're very easy to use as they're soft and easy to manage, but I'm not sure if they're safe to use. I've read some places that birch is safe, some places say it's safe if you remove the bark, and some say it's not safe at all.
Has anyone here made bird toys from birch twigs before? Thanks in advance!

Wardy

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award

BirdLady13

Sprinting down the street
Birch is a bird safe wood as long as it hasn't been treated with chemicals or preservatives. Personally I would just buy balls in bulk because I feel like making them would be tedious and they would still get destroyed quickly. I would rather spend $10 for 50 balls, but if you have the time and patience I commend you!

Solvurr

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Solveig Eide
Birch is a bird safe wood as long as it hasn't been treated with chemicals or preservatives. Personally I would just buy balls in bulk because I feel like making them would be tedious and they would still get destroyed quickly. I would rather spend $10 for 50 balls, but if you have the time and patience I commend you!