• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Lovebird beak peeling

Lindsey D

Moving in
Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum and a newish lovebird owner (we adopted our first-ever parrot, a lovebird named Belle, this spring). Since I'm new to all of this, I really appreciate your insight! I noticed Belle's beak looking off almost 3 weeks ago. Researching, it looked like normal peeling, but it's almost been 3 weeks and it almost looks worse. She's 5+ years old (she has had a rough prior life and we're unsure if her exact age). She broke one of her wings at some point in her life, so she uses her beak to climb everywhere. She eats a pellet diet mixed with seeds and nuts. She's been behaving normally...if anything, she's been coming out if her shell more and more! Any insight into this would be appreciated!

Attachments

Garet

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Garet
Poor little cutie. Guzma has a similar thing with his beak. The vet said it was just old age.

Is Belle a plucker?

Last edited:

TikiMyn

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Robin
Thank you for taking that cutie in and congrats!
Henkie had that happen one time to a lesser extent, it regrew very quickly though. I wasn’t really concerned as he could still do everything. I assumed he just damaged his beak a bit while playing:)

Lindsey D

Moving in