• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Linnie under the weather

Iceboxkat

Checking out the neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Kat Ruelle
Hi,
I am a newbie and searching for info on Linnies or possibly the problem would be the same for any bird. I have 3 Linnies now, originally had four but lost a little male this summer and the vet in formed me that half of his heart was hard and non functioning. He said it may have been genetic (He was unrelated to the other birds) or that he may have gotten sick with flu or cold without me knowing sometime in the past and that settled into his heart. I mention this because it was last spring and now my other male is not his usual self and this is going into the third week. Our vet is now retired and now an actual avian vet, we are on the Can. border so there is no one available that could be of help. However, the bird I lost was always very shy and non aggressive and when I took him that was what the owner told me as she didn't want him in a situation where he had to be defensive. So I wonder if that was something genetic?