• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Learning to breed

BirdsSquar

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Huma
HI, I'm a newbie here. not new to birds. Grew up all my life with them. Started with budgies as a kid, raised cockateils for 21 years and then conure and indian ringneck lovebird. I LOVE them all. My children love to pamper and train birds (they are older kids) and are experienced in care. We also have a number of mentors nearby. But if there are breeders of cockateils and lovebirds and goulians here id love to learn from you. Im in learning and research mode right now.
Input id love to get: What ages , pre bonded or let them bond ( yes i know about quarantine but am always willing to learn more), supplements and the use of preventative medicine, what feed you preferred. I would only start with small birds for now. Do i DNA the lovebirds and finches too?
I WELCOME POSITIVE AND CONSTRUCTIVE INPUT. If you are having a bad day or find my post upsetting please pass me by.

BirdsSquar

Real Name
Huma
Im also willing to take clutches of 2 week babies to raise and train as well. (under mentorship of my friends in addition to personal experience). Preemptive advice and guidance welcome.

Chase Hein

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Chase
I Raise Lovebirds Occasionally, it cool to meet someone who does the same!:)

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Welcome to the Avenue Huma 1.welcome signs.gif

Here is a great article: Tips For Breeders

cockateils and lovebirds and goulians
Do you know which species you want to breed? If not, here is a little snippet from the article I linked above:
¨In choosing what types of birds to breed, you will need to consider these things:
  • What will the pair cost?