• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Jardine's character - questions

Denisa

Moving in
Real Name
Denisa
Hi. I have the opportunity to give home to a young jardine's parrot (male) . What is the big difference in character between gray (kongo) and jardine? Another a question - I travel often to a cottage and want to go with a parrot. Would that be stressful for the jardine? Is it a parrot for 1 person or does it tolerate the whole family? I have no experience with African parrots. Thanks

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Banner Hoarder
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
Jardine's are not really related to African Greys. They are in the Poicephalus family, so related to Senegals, Meyers, etc

I have a 21 year old male and he is pretty even keel. He likes lots of people and takes changes pretty easily (except foods lol). I've only had him for 2 years.

However, I've heard as young birds they can be pretty ornery and tempermental.

Denisa

Moving in
Real Name
Denisa
Thank you Mizzely. I know, Jardine's aren´t really related to African Grey, but on the web states, that they are "green African Grey" or "little Amazon parrot". I don't know why - talking, coloring, or character?

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Banner Hoarder
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
I've not owned either so I don't know :) Move doesn't really talk but does whistle and beep like I guess some Greys do. He also chews a lot like an Amazon :lol:

Sparkles99

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!