• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Is my conure bathing too much?

Asula

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Madilyn
My conure bathes every day. Usually that's fine but lately im noticing her feathers are looking fringed and a bit on the down side. It's only her wing and back feathers.
So, I'm wondering if it's because shes bathing too much or if it's some kind of vitamin deficiency? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

Flynn

Strolling the yard
Hmm. I'm sure if it was related to bathing all of her feathers would be affected. I do note that it does look like there's a little bit of chewing/destruction on the back feathers, which might be what you see when you describe it as fringed, which can be caused by boredom, stress, and a bunch of other things. However I'm not an expert, so take what I say with a grain of salt. Best of luck :)

katebf38

Sprinting down the street
I believ gcc love water. I can’t keep my little guy out of it. If I he sun’s shinning and the water in his bowl is deep- he’s in it! :yahoo:

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John
So, I'm wondering if it's because shes bathing too much or if it's some kind of vitamin deficiency? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
It's got nothing to do with bathing. There is usually room for improvement where diet is concerned. What is the diet? Mostly what you're looking at is bronzing/wear and tear from having to live in a cage.

Asula

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Madilyn