• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Is he moulding, plucking his feathers, or is he ok?

<3birds

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Diane
So I recently got a pet canary as a gift, and so far he's been well, happy and singing. Today thought, he's very silent and he keeps ruffling his feathers and grooming them I think, I'm not sure.

I saw someone say that during their moulding periods male canaries don't sing (he's a male) and their feathers appear disheveled and out of place.

Can someone confirm if he is moulding or not? I'm not very experienced in this area, but from what I've read it's bad if they do in spring. And even worse, Im afraid he's pluckinghis feathers.

Pic for ex:

His previous owner didn't fulfill his needed living necessities, that's why I'm unusually worried!!

Attachments

Gigibirds

Rollerblading along the road
Oog, he looks beautiful! I don't know much about canaries, so I can't answer, but congrats on your beautiful bird! :) (he doesn't appear to be plucking his feathers, at least, not badly because there are no bald patches)

<3birds

Real Name
Diane
Oog, he looks beautiful! I don't know much about canaries, so I can't answer, but congrats on your beautiful bird! :) (he doesn't appear to be plucking his feathers, at least, not badly because there are no bald patches)

Wow, that's very assuring!! He seems to be fine, I just wanted to take precautions and educate myself more on the matter. He's now munching on some cauliflower and chirping at me ^^

CrazyKozmo

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Rebecca