• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Is a parrot right for me?

fishy5678

Checking out the neighborhood
Apologies if this is in the wrong section, as I'm rather new to the site.

(Copypasted from my Reddit account)
Here is a bit of background - I'm currently a high school student and I've been passionate about pets and animals for as long as I remember. I mainly keep aquariums so I am very well aware of the responsibilities of caring for any type of animal.

My main concern is when it comes to college. I would definitely prefer if I could take my animals with me, though housing may not permit birds (my top pick for college lets first year students live off-campus) due to noise or mess, and I don't know if I'll have the time for caring for a parrot. However, my dad does like birds a lot, and he says he is willing to learn about and care for a parrot if needed.

I heard from somebody that parrots can get attached to their owners, and once their owners leave they may become aggressive to other people. How accurate is this? I do plan on socializing my bird and get them used to my family members.

If I were to get a bird, I would prefer to get a single bird, but I wouldn't be opposed to two since I do spend around 7+ hours at school. As for species, I like medium sized birds, I'm not too big of a fan of parakeets or finches. In addition, I know that all parrots can get noisy, but I prefer something on the quieter end.

(I know this is a parrot forum but I had people suggest pigeons to me on other sites, they're illegal to keep as pets where I live)

Thanks!

TL;DR: