• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

IRN aggression/bonding

Channelrat

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Whitney Johnson
Hello friends!!!! I’m relatively new to parrot owning, had parakeets in my childhood and currently own a sparrow. But, my grandma has an Indian ring necked she wants me to take. My boyfriwnd and I have wanted a parrot for a while now and this seems like a good avenue to take.
only thing is, I’m wondering if there’s hope here. Some lady bought and raised this bird (kiwi) from hatchling. Then she decided she no longer wants him. So she gave him
To my grandma who already has a Macaw. My grandma only loves her Macaw. She is fine with kiwi but he really lacks attention. He speaks but he lunges at you if you get too close. And I will admit, shamefully, that I used to lightly taunt him as a child because he was “mean” and I believe he remembers...
Kiwi is estimated to be around 13-15.
I’d love to take kiwi and work on bonding with him and loving him and providing the best life he can possibly have but I’m scared I’m biting off more than I can chew with this one. Is it possible to tame a bird who remembers me taunting him as a child, who got ditched by his owners who raised him, and who lives in a neglected state right now??? Is it hopeless?
he remembers his previous owner and turns into a sweet little lovebug when she comes to visit every few years or so. Advice please:/
Thanks for reading! Sorry it’s so long

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
Wow what a history:)

I think that he will definitely remember but I also think you can win his trust. They are very smart and he will learn over time that you are different and worthy of trust.