• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

I need a little help/advice please

Susan and Oliver

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Susan
Hello! I hope some of you with large bird experience would offer me a little advice. I'm working with a customer to design his new bird room for 3 macaws...B&G, Green Wing and a Hy. I've been making toys and crawling items for almost 15 years so have a good feel for toys, etc. What I don't have is any personal hands on experience with the biggest birds so wonder if you would help me out.

First thing I'm concerned with is what to use to connect oddballs or hanging playgyms to the ceiling. Thinking the Hy would make quick work of chain. Considering s/s rods with eyes for quick links at each end. Anyone have suggestion?

Also these 3 birds get along with each other but need escape routes when feathers get ruffled. Do you think 2 feeding stations is enough or best to have 3?

Appreciate any ideas you big birders can offer.

Thanks!

zoo mom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Elaine
I don't have big macaws but I do have multiple birds. I would think 3 feeding stations would be better. My birds would squabble with just 2.

Susan and Oliver

Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Susan
Hi Susan, my GWM is as docile as a cockatiel so I am no help. Let's try to get Sarah over here. @Macawnutz
I've heard they can be gentle giants. Can only imagine what it's like to have an XL companion. @Macawnutz knows the ropes with the big guys.

I don't have big macaws but I do have multiple birds. I would think 3 feeding stations would be better. My birds would squabble with just 2.
Thinking the same thing. Thanks for your comment.

Last edited:

Hawk12237

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Michael