• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

I have a few questions

Priya12

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Priya
Last November I had to put down my African grey , her seizures because back and fourth, when reading the medical report the doctor written that one of the possibilities is atherosclerosis. I have been doing some research and For the first 3-4 years she was on sunflower diet Walmart food we then took her once for a vet check up and the doctor explained how sunflower seeds are bad we then incorporated pellets but the sunflowers seeds never went away and penut were her favorite treat but I have to confess she did eat a lot of peanuts and sweets.but the day before her getting admitted to the hospital she had a seizure but was normal after and then start lifting one of her foot we took her to a er vet and she started coughing the docter said she was congested and gave us antibiotics, if a bird has atherosclerosis can they also get infections and one vet said that she was blind in one eye could the bad seizures have caused blindness and is fatty liver related also they were weeks when we felt she had eaten to much sweet and her poop was kinda brown or when I look at old photos I see sum yellow where it should be white , but the blood work only showed the kidney values which was normal , her blood work also showed she was anemic how ever at the hospital we were under the impression that all her blood work was fine can atherosclerosis cause a bird to be anemic?

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
@Priya12
Your bird did not have a chance.

Sunflower seeds are terribly fatty and are not nutritionally beneficial