• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

I GOT BABIESS!!

lioen

Sitting on the front steps
So i had some mating birds for a while now, and one egg just finally hatched!! im so excited, but the information online is a bit scattered. It says i should remove it for handfeeding 3 weeks from birth, but it doesn't specify what to put in the formula, what tools to use, etc. I'm new to this, im sorry. I would also like to know if i could hold the baby (safely), how (the mom is not comfortable with people because of their last owners), and when. it was only born a few hours ago! should i just let the mom take care of it all for all of it?? do i give them special food? etc, i just need help really. Thank you!! i'll try to get pictures when i can.

Sparkles99

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
What species of bird?

There are pros & cons to hand feeding. I personally don’t think it’s in the bird’s lifelong best interests.

Budgie_guy

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Simone
I only have one breeding experience, with budgies, but I can telly you that despite the mom was afraid of people she didn't care about me handling the babies.
So once they grow a bit I think you can try to handle them for a few minutes and see how the mother reacts. If she's okay with that you can continue to spend time with them: they will learn quickly to trust you, without hand-feeding (that is risky). The problem is that they would still prefer their own kind over you, so you should make sure to work on your relationship with them often.
I guess it depends on how tamed you want them to be.

lioen

well, I have cockatiels, and I do want them to be used to humans. I need to sell most of them off, so I would want the owners and babies to have a good future relationship.

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator