• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hypothetical cost of horse ownership :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephwin

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Stephanie
I know the prices will vary based on location and individual vets/farriers/etc., but I would like to get a general idea of costs per year for a horse. Just for a reference, I’m located in Texas north of Dallas. I already have tack and grooming supplies, so I’m not really interested in up-front costs, just more of the ongoing costs with just owning a horse.

I’m in no hurry and I will definitely not get a horse for a few years at least, but I’m a big planner and I like to know what I’m potentially getting myself into. I started riding at age 6 and rode up until about 16, when I got busy in high school. I did ride during the summers after that and taught at a horse camp during the summer. I’ve never owned my own horse so I’m not sure what to expect in terms of cost.

What I do know:
Boarding – Pasture boarding in this area ranges anywhere from $220 - $400 per month. This includes all feed and use of any facilities. So for my example I’m going to choose the $400 board just for a worst case scenario.

Lessons – Range anywhere from $30-$50 each. For this example I will just say $50. So $200 for the month at 1 lesson per week.

So as of right now I’m looking at $600 a month, or $7200 a year. My car payment isn’t even that much! But again, that is worst case for my area.

The unknowns:
Farrier – I am interested in knowing the price with and without shoes. Hopefully my horse wouldn’t need shoes but that’s not a guarantee.

Vet – Like the cost of annannual exam, shots, teeth floating, coggins test, and things like that. Has anyone ever had an emergency visit, like for colic, and how much did that end up costing?

Insurance – is it worth it? What does everyone pay?