• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How long are molts?

Glitterbug

Moving in
My cockatiel started molting in early Jan. About 1 week ago, he looked done, but the past 2 days, he started dropping large feathers again. I just watched him today, preening his tail feathers and one fell out. Is this the same ongoing molt or another one? This is my first time observing a molt on a bird. He's 20+ years old. Thanks!

conureluv

Sprinting down the street
Ummm....I’m not an expert on cockatiels or birds, but I do know conures pretty well. Here’s an article on molts:
Here it is

Sunni Tiel

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Rachel
When did you get him? They are always loosing feathers, but it's just heavier during a moult. Have you owned him through a moult before? Moults shouldn't last much longer than 3 months at most, If it continues it could be health related.

Glitterbug

Moving in
Ummm....I’m not an expert on cockatiels or birds, but I do know conures pretty well. Here’s an article on molts:
Here it is
Thanks

When did you get him? They are always loosing feathers, but it's just heavier during a moult. Have you owned him through a moult before? Moults shouldn't last much longer than 3 months at most, If it continues it could be health related.
Oh ok I see. I didn't know they normally lose feathers here and there. I just get surprised when I see a large one. I got him in Oct 2020, this is my first experience. But yes, when he started, there was A LOT.
Thanks.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez