• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How dusty is your galah?

Hquinn

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Jessica
According to this website : Galah or Rose-breasted Cockatoos / Roseate
It says that Owners have described the Galahs to be surprisingly "undusty" for lack of a better word. They are much less dusty than say african greys. Their pink and grey feathers feel soft to the touch.

Nancy B

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Nancy
I'm new to cockatoos. I've had my galah, Rose, for a couple weeks and haven't seen a speck of dust. I see people in my RB2 group on Facebook talking about having to bathe them constantly and clouds of dust coming off, so I'm just curious what that's dependent on. Are some 'toos just dustier than others? Is it an age thing? Rosie is 16.
I have a Galah, Freddy, 7 yrs old, and have had him 7 weeks. For the first couple of weeks I didn't notice any dust. Then I read somewhere that if a too isn't dusty it could mean the start of a health issue. That made me nervous and I started looking for it. I have a dark green cage too. The first place I noticed dust was on the rim of his stainless bowl. It's a fine, white, like baby powder. If the light is just right, when he shakes, there's a little puff of dust, and very light coat on his cage bars, but it's not everywhere. i have also read that Galah's aren't as dusty, but they all should have some dust. I was relieved to see the dust lol! If you have onlyhad Rose for a couple weeks, relax and just start looking. I bet you will see dust.

jmfleish

Cruising the avenue
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Jen
Yes, they aren't as dusty as the white Cockatoos or the greys but they do have some dust!:)

cassiesdad

Ripping up the road
Weather Authority
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month