• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How dusty is your galah?

juliashmulia

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Julia
I'm new to cockatoos. I've had my galah, Rose, for a couple weeks and haven't seen a speck of dust. I see people in my RB2 group on Facebook talking about having to bathe them constantly and clouds of dust coming off, so I'm just curious what that's dependent on. Are some 'toos just dustier than others? Is it an age thing? Rosie is 16.

lupe

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Lupe
I don't have a galah..but I do have an umbrella cockatoo. .AND. .he's Very dusty. .toos in General are dusty birds. I'm sure someone will chime in

Bokkapooh

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Mercedez
Wear black. Does she make foot prints on you or when you rub her (while wearing black) does any powdery stuff make marks on your clothes?

Bokkapooh

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Mercedez
Another thing is doe your bird flap her wings a lot? Have a well lit area so when she flaps or ruffles her flight feathers, you can see the dust pick up in the air.

Tiel Feathers

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Deanna
My 11 year old BE2 is so dusty if he doesn't get at least two baths a week. If I wear dark clothes it looks like I played with a chalkboard. :meh: I think it must depend on the bird. When he shakes his feathers you can really see the dust when the sun is shining through the window. It's a good thing I love him so much! :heart:

Tiel Feathers

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Deanna