• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How do you feel about feather protectors? Have you ever used them?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thebirdnerds

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Jennifer
I specialize in feather pickers but I have some concerns about Apollo my new Scarlet. I will be bathing him and giving him lots and lots to chew. I have helped stop a lot of plucking from using phone books. He does not pluck, and pull them out. He is barbering, just snipping them off of his chest and back. My concern is if all else doesn't work, I would like to try a feather protector. I have never used those before and I was wondering if he would #1 just chew it off, or #2 focus on the tops of his wings, and tail because he can't get to his other spots?

Has anyone used the feather protectors (or sock things) and did they work?

Spinderella

Real Name
Chloe
It sounds like he would just chew the FP off himself; but it's worth a shot? I think thte FP coupled with what you already said you'd want to try with him would keep him busy and comfortable enough to leave it be, though.

Course, my Quaker chews her FlightSuit clean off herself, and she isn't a plucker... =/

It would make me wonder if having the FP there would give her something else to chew on rather than her own feathers, though?

Plus, the FP have added reinforcement inside them to at least try to discourage chewing. Who knows, though, that might even make it more fun to chew.

Last edited:

shellbeme

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Shelly
In the past I was against the cones-and various neck braces and I really am still not into the idea of using those. I think it would freak most birds out-plus how utterly uncomfortable! I think those should be reserved for mutilators.